Movie Review: Kick-Ass 2

Title: Kick-Ass 2
Released: August 2012
Director: Jeff Wadlow
Starring: Aaron Taylor-Johnson, Chloe Grace-Mortez, Christopher Mintz-Plasse
Rating: 4/5

I love Kick-Ass. The first comic wasn’t the greatest, but the movie was fantstic. I’ve been looking forward to the sequel for so long, and it was worth it, despite what some people have been saying.

Mark Millar is a dick. It makes me sad that we’re from the same city, and it makes me even more sad that he’s such a sexist pig, yet he can write a character like Hit Girl so fantastically. So, as I said, whilst the first comic was enjoyable, the movie was better. It’s the same for KA2 – the movie is leagues better than the comic (heck, I couldn’t even finish the comic, I just wasn’t feeling it), but still stays quite true, if you get my meaning.

So far I’ve seen KA2 three times, which normally means I’ve enjoyed a movie. I’m not sure if I prefer to the first movie, but it sure as hell is just as enjoyable. A lot of people have been saying that the sequel is much more violent, but I’m not completely sure. If you haven’t seen Kick-Ass in a while then watch KA2, sure, it seems more violent, but if you watch them back to back, I’m not really sure that would be the case. After watching it, though, I don’t see what Jim Carrey’s beef was – his character was brilliant! He was all about justice and helping people, so I don’t really get why he distanced himself so much. Yes, it’s violent, but I’ve seen much, much worse.

The acting in this movie is superb; it’s like all of the actors went away and just got even better, especially Chloe Mortez. Wow, that girl just blows me away. The whole cast are brilliant, and they just work together so perfectly.

Now, there’s one scene that everyone always feels the need to address, and I do to: the ‘rape scene’. Now, in the comic, it happens. It’s horrible, it happens, and we hate it. In the movie, we were told they weren’t going ahead with it because of the reaction of the fans. So, of course when that scene appears I was staring at my friend and shaking my head, because no, we don’t need that. However, the movie was saved by NOT having a rape scene, and by actually making it somewhat comical, which was a nice save if you ask me. I was sitting there feeling completely uncomfortable and then the whole hall was in hysterics – well done, Wadlow. Well done.

Over all, I think the movie is brilliant. I can understand people having issue with the violence, but if you enjoyed the first movie I don’t see why you would have any problem with this movie. It’s funny, heart warming at times, and just good fun.

Leave a Reply

