Movie Review: Smokin’ Aces

Title: Smokin’ Aces
Released: 2006
Director: Joe Carnahan
Starring: Ryan Reynolds, Ray Liotta, Ben Affleck, Chris Pine
Rating: 5/5

After years of thinking I’d already seen this movie and hadn’t liked it, it turned out I’d actually never seen it at all. So of course I had to fix this, and I wasn’t disappointed.

The movie has a good strong cast that work really well with one another, which was actually the main pull for me when I finally sat down to watch it. It’s such a random selection of actors, but they all work so well together that you don’t even notice. I think that helps with the tone of the movie, because the whole thing is just one but sh*tload of weirdness. But even saying that, as well as being weird and comedic, the movie has just the right amount of seriousness to it that it balances out and works in perfect harmony.

Now, I’m not going to deny it, I loved Chris Pine in this movie, and if I’m completely honest, he’s the main reason I gave it a shot. I instantly fell in love with the Tremors. They are crazy, dirty, and psychotically violent – I thought they were fantastic. They don’t care about reward money, they just seem to like doing the task. They’re insane. (And let’s not forget Chris Pine’s Southern accent *swoons*)

Ryan Reynolds is another one who is just perfect in this film, however, I always feel so bad because it seems like he gets so typecast all the time. He’s either a cop of some kind or a love interest. He’s perfect in those roles, and he’s brilliant in this, but I just feel like he never gets the chance to shine like he should.

Although the movie can be a little confusing at times, it’s still enjoyable. If you pay attention then you’re not likely to lose track of all the different stories going on, and normally I don’t like movies with more than one storyline,  but I enjoyed trying to guess what was going on and how everything was connected. The Carnival of Killers was just brilliant – each group were so different to one another and it worked fantastically.

In actual fact, the only issue I had with this movie was the fact that Ben Affleck seems to get a top billing for it a lot, and he’s not actually in the movie for a long time. That, and the fact the ending does slightly take away from the story, but that didn’t bother me too much.

It’s a really enjoyable film and not my usual type to watch. You should check it out if you haven’t already.

Leave a Reply

