Movie Review: Filth

Title: Filth
Release: October 2013
Director: Jon S. Baird
Starring: James McAvoy, Jamie Bell, Jim Broadbent
Rating: 4/5

When I first heard about Filth, I was more than convinced it was going to be just another typical Scottish ‘junkie movie’, you know, just another Trainspotting. Boy was I wrong. This movie is possibly the greatest movie to come out of Scotland in god only knows how many years. I was completely and utterly blown away by how amazing this movie was, because I was really not expecting it.

First of all, I really should give credit to James McAvoy. I’ve never been a big fan of him, but since watching his performance in Filth, I’m a convert. The role of Detective Bruce Robertson can’t have been an easy one, and wow, did McAvoy deliver. He makes you laugh, he makes you cringe, and he even horrifies you at times. One more than one occasion I had to look away from the screen because it was a little grossed out. His performance is one of merit, it really is. Someone needs to just give that man all the awards.

The supporting cast were all fantastic, too. Jim Broadbent was hilarious, and Jamie Bell had me questioning whether he was actually Scottish and not English, his accent was just perfect. Everyone else was brilliant, and all the cast hit you in some way (not going to lie, watching Moaning Myrtle having sex with McAvoy did make me make a small remark about that Harry Potter character).

Being a Scottish lass, of course I loved the scenery and sets. It was fun seeing places I knew growing up, or picking out areas where friends live, or I’ve been to. I have to admit, Bruce’s entrance being him exiting Edinburgh Castle was perfect – it was exactly how a character like him should enter a movie, I think.

The actually storyline is really well played out and you’re so drawn in by how much Bruce messes everyone around him about. The viewer is left shaking thier head at his antics, but also gets anxious over whether or not he’s going to be caught out and how bad the consequences will be. I don’t want to give too much away because I really want everyone to go out and see this, but the twist at the end is just mind blowing. I actually found myself leaning out of my seat and waving my arms at my friends because of just how brilliant and fantastic it was. Seeing James McAvoy in women’s clothing was…something.

I think everyone (especially you Scots) needs to see this. This is the greatest movie about a police department and a detective trying to get a promotion I have ever seen. It handles addiction and mental health problems in such a real way, it’s like you’re actually watching someone’s life on screen, just falling apart and them trying to solve it in the only way the know – hurting others.

I really, really recommend this movie, I really do. It’s not often I walk out of a cinema screen and actually feel blown away, but this movie left such a long lasting impression on me that it’s understandable why it’s taken Scotland by storm. Seriously, check it out.

Leave a Reply

